What are Standards Organizations

In this blog we will discuss, what are standards Organizations.

Standards Organization is a unit which develops, maintains, improves, amends and revises standards. It is also called as Standards Development Organization (SDO). The organization develops technical or non-technical standards.

The standards organization can be classified by its position, responsibility and authority on the national, regional and international standardization arena.

The national organizations can be government or non-government organizations. The government organization are Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) for India, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) for United State of America.

The non-government organizations like American National Standards Institute (ANSI) are allowed to work as government agencies.

Regional organizations are European Committee for Standardization (CEN) , Euro-Asian Council for Standardization (EASC), European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI).

International organizations are International Standard Organization (ISO), International Telecommunication Union (ITU), Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and World Wide Web Consortium (W3C).

International Organization for Standardization (ISO)

The ISO is the leading developer of international standards and is comprises of representatives from national standards organisations. The main objective of ISO is to create world-wide Industrial and commercial standards.

The ISO is a Non-Government Organisations (NGO). It sets standards which becomes law through contract and acts as an association with strong links to governments.

The standards developed by ISO are accepted worldwide. ISO works with the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), which is responsible for standardization of electrical equipment.

International Telecommunication Union – Telecommunication (ITU-T)

The International Telecommunication Union – Telecommunication (Standardization Sector) is the oldest intergovernmental organisation. It was previously known as consultative committee on International Telephony and Telegraphy (CCITT).

It was established to standardize and regulate International radio and telecommunications. The public and private organisations develop telecommunications through ITU-T.

The ITU was founded in Paris in 1865 as an International Telegraph Union. In 1947 it became a United Nations agency. ITU-T offers technical assistance to the developing countries in the field of telecommunications.

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) is an International non-profit Organisations. In 1963, the IEEE was formed by merging the two organisations American Institute of Electrical Engineers (AIEE) and Institute of Radio Engineers (IRE).

The AIEE was concerned with the wire Communications (telegraph and telephony) and light and Power Systems whereas the IRE was concerned with radio engineering. The IEEE is one of the leading standards-making organisations in the world.

It develops standards of various Industries like, power and energy, Information Technology (IT), telecommunications, biomedical and healthcare.

American National Standards Institute (ANSI)

American National Standards Institute is a non-profit organisation. The organization coordinates the U.S. standards with international standards to make American products usable worldwide.

The ANSI also approves standards which are developed by representatives of standards deploying organisations, government agencies, consumer groups and companies.

ANSI creates standards for the computer industry and for a wide range of technical areas. For example, ANSI C is a C language standard produced by ANSI.

The technical standards can be electrical specifications and Communication protocols. For example, FDDI, is ANSI standard which is a set of protocols for sending data over fiber optic cables.


  • Standards organizations like ISO and ANSI develop technical and non-technical standards.
  • International standards organizations are International Standard Organization (ISO), international Telecommunication Union (ITU), Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and World Wide Web Consortium (W3C).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap